Strumming Patterns ok - my mistake

Feel free to get outside the box here.
dieguy

Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:31 am

I am a beginner working with the lessons. Strumming is emphasized throughout by Neil, however on some song lessons you have to figure it out by yourself. At this point I don't have the skill or time to work it out. Each song should have a recommended strum pattern with it. This is a great site, but including the strum patterns for each song would make it easier, especially for beginners with limited knowledge.

Followup:

When I started to learn a song I printed out the lesson notes and tab. Neither contained the strumming pattern and I did not see a part labeled "strumming" under the video lesson so I assumed it wasn't included. Since then I have looked at some songs and there appears
to be mention of strumming in various parts of the videos, so my confusion. Sorry.....

BigBear

Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:47 pm

Don't fall into the trap of "Strumming Patterns". Every song Neil does, if it's a strummer, he shows you the correct "pattern". The reason I say it's a trap is because strumming is about timing and feel. It's not a canned technique that you pull out pattern number 8 and wail away.

Have you gone thru the Acoustic Genius series and The Compleat Rhythm Guitar series yet? Tones of great strumming info there. Rather than strumming patterns, Neil talks about styles that pertain to certain types of music; ballad, rock, country etc. These styles are great starting points but you will quickly develop your own feel.