thinking about signing up for target

Feel free to get outside the box here.
fortdick

Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:37 pm

I have played guitar all my life. I think, over 40 years, I have take four lessons, everything else is self taught. I know the basics of theory and play most major, minor, seventh chords, etc.

Looking at some of the material here, beginning level is not for me, but some of the intermediate material talks about theory stuff that I don't know.

Can target help me fill in those holes yet not bore me with basic stuff? I guess what I am asking is can someone like me fit into the program once my level is determined without having to start at the beginning?

With the little bit of the songs I have seen I don't believe level 5 or 6 would be too difficult for me, but I don't know.

Any advice helps.

dan

PS: Fort Dick is the town I live in. Used to be Fort Richard but I guess the locals felt that was too pretentious. :blink:

tovo

Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:42 pm

Hi Dan,

Without any shadow of a doubt the program will benefit you. There are plenty of challenging tunes and plenty of theory that is well beyond beginner level. I think it would be fair to say that few people here would be prepared to describe themselves as advanced players, but we have some very good players who are very active. I have been a member here for some time, and I've never heard a single person say that the material is too basic. I would also reinforce that there is a LOT of material, a good deal of it that is beyond beginner level.

suziko

Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:01 pm

Agreed completely. And after seeing the recent lesson on Pachelbel's Canon, I think that even a very advanced player could find things here to benefit them.

I think a large chunk of the active Target members are intermediate players, and most of us find our biggest challenge is fitting in all the things at TG that we want to learn.