How to find techniques for a beginner used in lessons - such as hammer on

Feel free to get outside the box here.
nancyboard

Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:19 pm

Hi - I'm new to Total Guitar and a beginner. I am a target member. I have watched many lessons in the beginner's and acoustic genius series, and I am learning to play. Now I look at song lessons and Neil describes some technique like hammer on or pull off. I'm not sure how to do that. Where can I find techniques described in a way a beginner like myself can understand? All I can find is strumming and finger picking lessons.

TGMatt

Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:56 pm

Not sure where the theory is as cough cough I have yet to go through it, so I am sure some kind members here will point it out,

On the song front he goes into and uses it on these 3 songs at least probably more

I've Just Seen A Face- The Beatles (found in content)
Doc’s Guitar - Guitar Lesson (found in content)
Country Blues Lesson 3 - Mississippi Blues (found in content)

Hope that helps some

Cheers

cosmicmechanic

Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:39 pm

Hi Nancy,

Example of a "hammer-on"

Long Cool Woman In A Black Dress Guitar Lesson (by The Hollies)
part 4: A Look at the Left Hand
Time: 0min23 seconds into the video

It is hitting an open string and then fretting (pressing down with a left hand fingertip) the string while it is ringing

A "pull-off" is the opposite: hitting a fretted string and then lifting the pressing finger while the string is ringing.

See ya

Pierre

michelew

Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:31 am

nancyboard wrote:
Hi - I'm new to Total Guitar and a beginner. I am a target member. I have watched many lessons in the beginner's and acoustic genius series, and I am learning to play. Now I look at song lessons and Neil describes some technique like hammer on or pull off. I'm not sure how to do that. Where can I find techniques described in a way a beginner like myself can understand? All I can find is strumming and finger picking lessons.