Suggestion for Listing Guitar Lessons by Tuning

Feel free to get outside the box here.
jaslu81

Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:17 pm

I'm a newbie and really loving the website and lessons! I was wondering if there was a way to list guitar lessons by tuning to make it easier to find songs that are available in a particular tuning. For example, I may be working on Neil Young song in double dropped D and would want to see what other songs may be available in that tuning. Under the "Guitar Lessons" tab, the first item listed is "All Lessons" and maybe that would be a good place to add submenus for various tunings?

Thanks for your consideration!

Best,

Jim

schm040

Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:28 pm

Jim,

Great suggestion. I would like to see that too.

Here is what I do and it works pretty well.

Go to the lessons page and find the search box and type in what tuning you want, for example:

Open G
Dropped D
C Wahine
Double Dropped D
Open D

I am pretty sure all the lessons in each tuning will appear, just do one at a time, you will see.

Also, be sure to type in "Dropped" not "Drop".... Neil is somewhat of a grammar expert.......

It works, try it.

Matt

jaslu81

Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:41 pm

Matt, your suggestion is a very good starting point for finding other songs though there's a bit of "noise" in the search results. Thanks for the fast response!

Music Junkie

Wed Mar 21, 2012 8:46 am

Nice idea. I have been thinking about re-organizing all of my music sheets at home that way lately. Separate them first by tuning and then alphabetically by artist. It would be nice to have all of your songs in a certain tuning placed together so you could work through them without having to fumble around. Maybe the site could add the various tunings to the drop down menu..... Not sure how much trouble that would be, but it would be nice.

MJ

schm040

Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:36 am

Jaslu81,