Fingerpicking 101 - question (Streets of London)

Feel free to get outside the box here.
jennings

Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:33 am

Hi Guys,

I have been playing for 6 years - but would consider myself 'intermediate/beginner'. I am not naturally musical but I love playing.

I recently switched from a plectrum to finger strumming, as it gave me more affinity with the music - it made me feel closer to my guitar. Sounds a bit weird...I am not sure if I have articulated that very well...anyway...I would really like to nail fingerpicking. Specifically my goal is to play a decent rendition of Streets of London (Ralph Mactell). So after a bit of waffle here are my questions.

If I do the fingerpicking 101 lesson, will I be able to play Streets of London?
Will I be able to apply fingerpicking to songs which aren't necessarily fingerpicking songs?

Thanks for reading,

Ian

neverfoundthetime

Tue Apr 03, 2012 6:20 am

Hi Jennings, welcome to the forum.
If I do the fingerpicking 101 lesson, will I be able to play Streets of London?
Will I be able to apply fingerpicking to songs which aren't necessarily fingerpicking songs?
Short answer, yes! The lesson on the song will nail it for you and all the tips on finger picking are applicable to anything you want to play. Even learning one simple picking pattern will help you enormously to finger pick many songs.

Have fun!
Chris

schm040

Tue Apr 03, 2012 6:22 am

Ian,

I started out only fingerpicking because I couldn't get the feel for picking, plus I liked the sound of fingerpicking better. I would fingerpick and finger strum all songs I tried to learn to play. Neil has a lot of lessons that teach this method, one great example is Wish You Were here which is generally thought of as a strumming and plectrum song that he plays as a fingerstyle chord melody kind of thing.