Questions about TARGET and on-line lessons in general

Feel free to get outside the box here.
stevied

Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:21 am

Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum, had a few questions for Neil and he suggested I post this to get your feedback, so here goes:

I have enjoyed a number of the free lessons - found them on youtube, then navigated to this site. I have been playing guitar for the past 2-3 years, but have not been diligent about lessons (I tend to learn songs, rather than the basics). My playing ability is probably advanced beginner - I can play bar chords, but have difficulty transitioning from open to bar; my strumming technique needs work (I finally learned to palm mute recently, trying to incorporate into strumming); as an example of where I am at, songs I can tackle include Neil Young Old Man, Neil Young Needle and Damage Done, James Taylor Fire and Rain (although not at full speed). I am considering joining the Target program, but have a few questions:

1. Online lessons are attractive to me because I travel fairly frequently, and it would be difficult to take in-person lessons on a regular basis; that said, I worry that taking lessons on-line won't give me the right feedback with respect to my progress, and specifics about my playing ability - how would you respond to that?