Jamming with a group

TGSuzanne

Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:57 pm

What type of jamming do you do when playing with a group? Free form, everyone play at once? Exchanging 4's or 8's? Each one gets a "solo"?

rcsnydley

Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:02 pm

suzanne - when my friends and I get together to jam it is sort of semi-structured free form. We play some old songs we've always played. We play some new ones that one or more of us has learned and brought in. Sometimes we actually discuss who should play what and sometimes we just let it happen as it happens.

We all have our strong points so we generally play to those strong points, but reaching out and trying other things is also strongly encouraged.

Ric

TGSuzanne

Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:20 pm

Ya, whenever I've jammed, it has been pretty free-form. I'm curious if groups have a chord structure in mind or they let "things happen". I'm a professionally trained musician and played with the same, so often we all agreed on some structure to the chords. Sounds like you do the same..

Letting things happen is a great way to compose as a group, as long as someone keeps track of what was going on when something awesome transpired. ;)

AndyT

Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:04 pm

Normally what we do is everyone follow the guy who knows the song best. LOL

BigBear

Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:13 pm

I usually jam with guys from work so prior to the jam session everyone in the company, who wants to attend, suggests some songs they'd like to here and we go from there. But that breaks down quickly when someone says "Do you guys know any ....?" Then whoever knows the song takes control.

Our problem is we have a former professional guitar player who is like Neil and remembers almost every song ever written so we usually just have to follow him as blazes away. Pretty intimidating but I always learn from him. :cheer:

haoli25

Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:18 pm

I just follow the drummer so I am usually playing something different from everyone else. Is that free-form? :laugh: