Is rhythm natural?

Lavallee

Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:00 pm

Hi folks,

I was just replying to Pierre in the video I just did. All along I have been mentioning that I have to work on rhythm. In replying to him I realize, because I have played guitar many times with him, that Pierre has a natural rhythm when he plays and I have to understand it because it is not natural at all. Pierre does not play with a metronome (that I know of), he just feels the song right away while I have to listen to it a great number of time before understanding it (and still not feeling it, I think...)

I am not talking in general when a song is playing and you follow the main beat. I can sing the song (in my head , for the protection of my neighbors :) ) But when I strum I just bloody struggle until I play the damn song 232 1/2 times.

I have a few technical skills, so I cannot say it is because I am just beginning. My daughter who does not play any instrument, can make some quite remarkable mix with a software she has. She change the speed of a song to meet another and it is flawless. sounds professional.

So why is it natural for some people and not for others. There has to be some talent of course, but maybe how you listen to the song, maybe listening at different things.

Enlighten me : is there something that can be done to improve or if you are a dud you just stay a dud

Marc

Music Junkie

Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:40 pm

Marc:

I think rhythm comes more easily to some than to others for sure. I can get the timing and the feel of a song very easily, but perfecting a certain strum pattern (especially the sixteenth notes when they are added in on certain parts of songs) can be very difficult. As a particular example, I would bring up Ventura Highway by America. Super easy set of chords and very easy rhythm to feel. Getting the strum spot on with the sixteenth notes is very difficult for me. If I dumb down the song a bit for a more campfire version, it is simple.