Down and Out - first target video post

captainkdp

Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:58 pm

Any tips or feedback folks?. Having some trouble with hitting all the wierd chords. Practice, practice, practice...

__m__

Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:02 pm

I'm no expert, as I'm learning to fingerpick myself, but Neil says not to anchor your pinky when fingerpicking.

As far as the chords go, The video has your left hand mostly cut off, I can't really tell...

Kudos for first video post! That's more than I can say, still haven't posted one myself.

TGNesh

Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:07 pm

Nice. This song always reminds me of my uncle who used to play it when I was a kid. Thanks for that. I'd be interested in the chord progression!

You sound solid to me, and like your getting really into the feel of the song.

I'll share what I do when I'm at the stage with a song like where you are with this one: I slow it down quite a bit to where I can stay more or less in time and still make the chord changes. If there are particular chord switches that trip me up, I'll play just a few measures around that chord transition in a loop until I can play that smoothly-ish. :) Then I'll tack on a couple more measures and play that longer loop, etc. Eventually, you'll have some handful of loops, smooth on their own, and when tied all together BAM you gots a song.

Thanks for sharing this one, you're sounding really good.

Lavallee

Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:11 pm

There you go Captain, the ice is broken. Congratulation on the video. I would suggest to slow down a bit so there is no pause when changing chords and gradually increase the speed. If the chords are tough , maybe you could alternate the chords without finger picking just to focus on the chord changes themselves.

Marc

captainkdp

Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:16 pm

"Neil says not to anchor your pinky when fingerpicking" - Yea, I know that is a habit that might be hard to break. Just started finger picking and I get outta position if I don't anchor....