What Child Is This?- Suziko

suziko

Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:22 am

This is a song I wanted to learn ever since I started playing the guitar. I was excited when Neil posted his lesson, and even more excited to see it was only a "2." Well, this was the toughest level 2 song I've played! It took me a few weeks to get it to this point.

Many firsts here for me:

1. First person to upload a holiday song, which I did not expect! I kept expecting someone else to post this song before I could get it memorized.

2. First fingerstyle song that I've learned all the way through.

3. First time I've uploaded my "first try" at filming a song. There are a few mistakes, but I doubted very much I could have captured a much better version, and frankly the whole filming process stresses me out so much that I'm always glad to have it done with.

4. First video with my new guitar strap. Thanks to a few people (Michele, Al, and others I'm sure) for recommending I get one. It really does help, at least for me.

5. First song I practiced with a metronome.

As always, comments and suggestions are appreciated. Happy Holidays to you all!

MarkM

Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:37 am

Suziko,

Great job!!!! I've been wanting to tackle a fingerstyle song and you just made me think twice about this one. I'll try and get it down over the next day or two. I can't say enough how well this is. Certainly for your first time. Fantastic!!!!

suziko

Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:39 am

Thanks, Mark! I'd recommend giving this song a go if you want to get some practice with a fingerstyle song. It was (to me, anyway), challenging enough to keep me interested, but not so difficult that I felt despair!

mark

Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 am

That was really excellent.

Your left hand position is excellent. I'm really envious.

Regarding the stressful filming business. I've recorded myself quite a lot over the last few months to monitor any progress and the thumping heart and sweaty palms have gone now.

suziko

Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:05 pm