Freight Train- Suziko

suziko

Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:33 pm

This is an American folk song written by a woman named Elizabeth Cotten, though I'm playing a much simpler version than the one she plays. Maybe after I've been playing for 50 years I'll be able to play it the way she did.

I had never heard this song until I started to play guitar, at which point it was one of the first song for which I learned to pick out the melody. I've wanted to learn to play it as a Travis picking-style song for a while, and only dared to give it a go recently. I've been working on it for about 2 weeks. This version is not perfect, but I gave up trying to play it perfectly for a video (not that I usually can even when not filming it!) The song has 3 verses, so I decided I'd play it through 3 times, leaving the bass run out of the 2nd verse for some variety. I also adapted the F chord for my version. The TAB I had recommended playing the low F with your thumb wrapped over the top of the neck. I decided to try to play it as a full barre instead. I don't always hit it perfectly, but I'll get there.

This is a work in progress, but I figured I'd show you all where I'm at with it. Maybe I'll post an update in a few months.

Here's Elizabeth Cotten herself playing it with Pete Seeger:

Lyrics:

Freight train, Freight train, run so fast
Freight train, Freight train, run so fast
Please don't tell what train I'm on
They won't know what route I've gone.

When I am dead and in my grave
No more good times here I crave
Place the stones at my head and feet
Tell them all that I've gone to sleep.

When I die, Lord, bury me deep
Way down on old Chestnut street
Then I can hear old Number 9
As she comes rolling by.

Chasplaya

Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:37 pm

Lol I was on YT and this popped up. Well done nice smile at 1.05 and you kept going cool. Nicely done now play it like Elizabeth upside down back to front lol.

suziko

Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:40 pm