MarkM - Neil Young - Sugar Mountain

MarkM

Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:32 pm

Alot of first for me in this song. Some I've got here and some I'll need your help/pushing to get the rest. So "first" number one. I've been messing around with this song for a couple of weeks and it just never sounded right to me. I knew I was getting the correct chords as I double checked all over the place so that wasn't the problem. Then something snapped in the noggin and I decided to tune the whole thing down. (The song is in standard tuning) I went down a half step and tried it out. Nope not it. Close but not quite. So then I thought well it can't be in D or double drop D as I know those pretty well and that wouldn't sound right. So I actually PM Neil desperatly looking for help. No sooner than I sent that message and I figured it out. I went down a whole step and BINGO that was it. So This is a fisrt for me. As some of you know I have no issues with different tunings but this one I've never done before.

2nd "first" for me is that after I got back from my week away I learned a few new songs and used "Neil's" proper G chord fingering. After much pain (mental and physical) I got it to work. Well I was actually stuck in no mans land where I was getting the new way down on the new song and the older songs that I've learned the other way I no couldn't put down a solid fingering. With nowhere else to go but forward I've just about learned the new way and committed to my hands memory. My ring finger on my left hand is nowhere near as strong as my middle finger so the hammerons are a little difficult for moment if I have to use that finger. I know that will get better in time.