Response to The Sage by Wrench

TGNeil

Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:43 pm

If you are looking for entertainment, move along - there's nothing to see here. For those who watch it anyway, the audio is mercifully poor because an update of my webcam software broke the ability to use an external mic.

This is a trip outside of my comfort zone. So far out, I probably don't belong there. This is a TARGET level 8 song, and I am no level 8 player. I did this for a few reasons. First, I was plateaued, and wanted to try something harder to break the log jam. Second, I think there are some important metrics here. It so happens that I started playing a year ago - exactly one year ago yesterday. For the first couple of weeks I just plucked single notes. I wasn't able to get off the ground with any lessons until I found TG about two weeks later. So, the metric is this: how far can a newbie expect to progress in a year at TG? From Zero To The Sage. The second metric is the therapy one can derive from hand exercises. I dedicate this video to a foam rubber football because this song has some severe physical challenges (at least for me), and I could not envision me ever playing this song even a month ago. For every hour I have on this song, I have one on the football. I do not have hand dimensions that are good for guitar, and what I have is in bad shape; playing this song is a significant personal milestone, and proof that folks with poor hands can probably make them better than they are.

For anyone considering something like this, it broke the log jam. Everything I played before tackling this song I now play fluently. This song is still very poor at this stage, but far enough along to convince me that I will have it good shape in a few weeks, and therefore, succeed outside of my comfort zone. What I would like to hear from my fellow TG'ers is whether you think I uncorked this mess too soon. I probably wouldn't have posted it yet were it not for the opportunity to use it as a metric for TG.