michelew learning to play Here Comes the Sun acoustic guitar

michelew

Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:36 am

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

I feel like I've been talking to some of you about this song forever. Marc has been encouraging me to take on a long term project and so I chose this song. Many of you inspired me to learn it - you know who you are. I've been learning it for 3-4 months now (I think), I've lost track on just how long. I've learned lots in the process, including that if I work and work and work sections I can tackle the bits that are tripping me up...eventually. I've created a thread for many of those bits seeking your advice on how to approach things, so thanks to all of you that helped me along.

I still need to work on things, I've been finding that I often accidentally kill notes with my picking hand fingers, my pull-off still need more work, and in some places the timing is off and I do a micro hammer-ons (and getting through a take without a stuff up). When I'm filming I also find that I speed up during the song and find it hard to stick to a slower pace especially.

It's a fun and rewarding song and full of things to learn. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Michele

coomba

Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:59 am

Hey Michele That was bloody amazing I can not believe how you have become such an acomplished player in the short time that I have been following your progress.I hope you are very pleased with that,you can tell you have put a lot of hard work into it,and I love this tune.You incourage me to try more dificult songs.
Loved it
Cheers Scott

leeson

Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:11 am

Michele,

That was beautiful. Smooth and confidently delivered. I am working on this tune right now, as well, but I see now that I have a long way to go. Bravo!

Bill

MarkM

Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:21 am

Michele,