sws626 learning to play I Want You (electric version) acoustic guitar

sws626

Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:51 am

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

As I mentioned in my previous post, this is a song I started learning on the electric guitar -- or, I suppose I should say, as an experiment to try to figure out how the thing works. I don't pretend to know the first thing about electric guitars and this is really a new instrument for me. So any suggestion will be helpful.

This recording is just what the camera mic picked up. Again, I'm trying to record in one take so you can see what needs to be improved. But this one took me a couple of tries to get all the way through the song (I think you can see the expression of relief on my face when it was over).

-Stuart

cosmicmechanic

Tue Jun 29, 2010 11:42 am

Nice start on electric guitar, good emotion there, very warm and smokey atmosphere. I can't give tech comments since I know zilch about electrics, but the timing on this song is difficult and your timing is quite credible.

Takes me right back to some of the great times this tune was a soundtrack for.

Problem is, now I'm having trouble returning!

Thanks, I enjoyed your video
Pierre

willem

Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:00 pm

Stuart,one thing a tracked me on this site was acoustic,,i love your acoustic on this song,,i don't mean to say,no electric,thats only me.. a view years ago a nevew say to me ''you can borrow my electric'', i did that for two weeks,,i could not handle,when i came a litlle on the strings,man then it already maked sound,,i found it very difficult.
what i ment to say is...have fun with the electric..

michelew

Tue Jun 29, 2010 5:20 pm

Stuart,

It sounds good. Looks hard.

I think you need to make it easier on yourself by at least shortening your strap. The angle of your left hand has to be making it harder for you.