rapsidy norwegian wood/ H rising sun guitar lesson review upload

rapsidy

Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:52 am

G day viewers !

Its been awhile since my subscription elapsed and being a poor student i couldnt afford to renew it :( UNTIL my wifes tax check came yes :woohoo:

These are some songs im working on, and r quite challenging for me. I get a little disapointed when you put hours and hours of practice and you dont seem to get the rewards you like. I hope this is normal?? or that could be the difference between talent and hard work. It takes longer.

Any hints and help welcome

thanks

Brad

tovo

Sun Sep 05, 2010 4:22 am

Hey Brad.

Great to see that you have renewed the subscription. Sure, it takes us mere mortals a bit longer to pick things up. So what? Nothing worthwhile comes easy mate.

OK, if there is one song in the entire Target program I am well qualified to comment on, it's Norwegian Wood. Your issue with this one mate is that you need to keep the right hand moving in order to keep the timing. It took me a LOT of practice to get it, but it does come. Secondly, you are too heavy on the strumming, lighten it up. This is Neil's "gotcha" tune. He has put it in at a 2 so that you think it will be easy to conquer. Not so my friend! Keep at it. If you want some good help, troll back to all the advice I got on it and you will be well on your way. Good luck with it.

House of the Rising Sun is a great 1st up finger-picking tune, it's the one I chose. Again, finger-picking is a matter of repetition. More emphasis on the 1st note and keep practicing it. It will come.

I enjoy your self-deprecating manner Brad, but don't get too down on yourself. It's not easy this stuff. Keep at it mate and most of all listen to the advice that is coming your way from dudes who know. If you do that, you can't help but improve.

Cheers.

willem

Sun Sep 05, 2010 4:57 am