shurmo24 learning Black Water guitar lesson

shurmo24

Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:42 pm

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

shurmo24

Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:48 pm

Hello all,

This is my first student video. Since I requested this song, I thought I'd better give it a try. I'm just learning fingerpicking since joining totally guitars so go easy on me!

buddy

Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:18 pm

Shurmo,

I thought you did a very nice job on this song. Your rhythm was fairly steady your notes came out nice and clear. For not finger picking very long, you are doing a great job.

I have not worked on this song so I can't give specific advice on the technical aspects of it. I do think it might help your finger picking to change the angle of your right hand a little bit. If you could tilt it down a little so that your thumb is not lined up with your fingers, it might free your hand up a little.

Bud

cosmicmechanic

Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:22 pm

Hi, I haven't tried this tune out yet either, but just at a glance you seem to be getting comfortable with your left hand traveling pretty much all over the fretboard.
There are some timing issues, which I find are the hardest to detect in my own playing ... got to play along with a lesson now and then.

Nice post, keep going, you'll have this more fluid soon enough :)

Pierre

lueders

Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:25 pm

Hello there shurmo24...congrats on your first TG post. (And, for being the first person to post his/her version of Blackwater...fitting since you requested it.)

Pretty ambitious song for a first outing...Nice JOB! Your playing has a lot of positive things going for it...Real Good! Cori

Lavallee

Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:01 pm