MarkM learning Look at Me guitar lesson

MarkM

Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:21 pm

I've been listening to alot of John Lennon's solo stuff lately and forgot about how much I really enjoyed this. I came across "Look at Me" from his first solo effort John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band. I believe it was released in 1970. Anyway there are clips of him playing this song in various different ways. Strumming and fingergerpicking. Since I've been trying to get better at fingerpicking I figured that I would give this one a go. It's still a work in progress as I'm not very good at this yet. Also I added to vocals afterward (as if you couldn't tell). I'm nowhere near singing and picking at the same time yet. I double tracked the vocals to try and get the same effect he has on his recording. Below is the version that I was going after. As always I thank you in advace for your comments and suggestions. Oh and my apologies for getting the mic in the way of my picking hand.

MarkM

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

suziko

Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:44 pm

Nice job, Mark! This isn't a song I knew before, but I liked your version. I think you're making good progress with your fingerpicking. You've got a nice, steady rhythm going and I like how your getting good volume out of your bass notes (I tend to not hit mine nearly loudly enough). Really liked the sound of the bass runs in this song especially.

Suzi

haoli25

Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:34 pm

Bravo, Mark! Like Suzi, I was not familiar with this Lennon song, but I really liked it. Just another jewel I have discovered on TG. Thanks for posting your video.

Bill Image

sbutler

Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:33 pm

Hey Mark,

Looks like all that fret board memorization has paid off eh?

Really nice, smooth job. Keep it up and thanks for sharing.

Scott

tovo

Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:55 pm