Grateful Dead Ripple (Intro) by cosmicmechanic

cosmicmechanic

Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:54 pm

Hi all,

I've been scratching away at the Ripple intro for 6 months now, and this is the result. I ain't kidding myself ... nothing to brag about, but fun :)

This video is just over one minute of repeating the intro, until I fumble it and run away screaming ...

So, how to get past playing the tab by rote and get it flowing ? I'm hoping for a "eureka!" moment, 'cause it sure is taking some time.

Any comments are welcome, of course ... please !

tovo

Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:03 pm

That was pretty cool Pierre. Sound is a bit low but sounds...well.....cosmic! Very nice.

Craig

Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:10 pm

Pierre,
Nice work! I don't know the song well enough to offer any suggestions, so I'll leave that to the other members. However, it sounds like you are on the right track. Keep up the good work! Thanks for sharing.
Craig
P.S. If you discover a method for "eureka moments", please let me in on the secret! :laugh:

Lavallee

Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:24 am

Salut Pierre, good work on the Ripple, you have the spirit of the song. I see that you are using alternate picking and you keep your hand moving. You only need to work on the picked notes (I know, easier said then done). Right now you are trying to keep the beat and picked the notes, but the beat is faster than the notes are being picked so the picked notes are not coming as clear as they should. I would suggest to slow down the whole thing until the picked notes come out nice and clear and then increase speed again. . You could also keep the same speed but add a new note slowly until all the picked notes are clear.

This is great to see a new video from you

Marc

lueders

Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:51 am