Fleetwood Mac Landslide by suziko

suziko

Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:08 pm

Landslide was one of the first fingerpicking songs that I tried to learn when I started playing guitar. The verses are just a repetition of 3 chords, which seemed easy enough. The problem was that, unless you sang it, the song was just too repetitive to be at all interesting. And singing has never been something I'm all that comfortable doing. When Neil put up the chord solo for Landslide I thought I'd just learn that and post it. However, posting just the chord solo didnt seem like enough, so then I figured I'd have a go at the whole thing, replacing the solo that usually comes after the first chorus with the chord solo. The song was challenging for me to sing, especially during the chorus where the picking pattern becomes more complicated and the melody moves all over the place. The chord solo involves many long stretches, and this is the first song that I've played that took me so much out of first position and moved me up and down the neck. I also found that I had to really work at finding a tempo that was fast enough for the singing parts, but not too fast for the chord solo. It still needs polishing, especially the solo, but I felt like I'd plateau'd a bit with it and was hoping for some helpful feedback. This is a song I'll be keeping in my repertoire.

As always, thanks for watching.

Suzi

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

beaker

Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:36 pm

Suzi,
Hey that was a great version of Landslide. I like how you have incorporated the chord solo and the vocals and the whole package. I don't have any tips for you, just kudo's. Beaker.

buddy

Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:43 pm

Suzi,

You should be so proud of this !!! The finger picking is just superb on this and the vocals are great as well. Really, really enjoyed it.

Bud

Music Junkie

Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:51 pm

Suzi: