Paul McCartney Blackbird by dsmarion

dsmarion

Sat Aug 06, 2011 5:44 pm

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

suziko

Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:02 pm

Scott,

That was beautiful! I've been playing this song for about 2 months, and I think it's a great one for keeping your fingers nimble. I don't have any real advice for you. I find it incredibly hard to play this song through without occasionally missing a note.

Suzi

dtaylor

Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:28 pm

Nice sounds! Timing was excellent and technique (hand position) looked spot-on, it made the changes look very efficient, Neil would be proud!

Dean

dennisg

Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:39 pm

Yeeeeehaw! Way to go, Scott. Very smooth and pretty. Keep it up and you'll be able to sail through without any flubs.

We've had so many versions of this song on this site, we should consider having a thread devoted to Blackbird. Your version would be one of the best.

dsmarion

Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:27 pm

Suzi - Thank you! This is one of the songs I definitely wanted to learn when I decided to start playing again. And your right, I make a flub on the way all the time somewhere. Mostly with the right hand but still always miss a chord somewhere.

Dean - Thanks, I am working on getting a better at proper technique.

Dennis - I can do every part of this but I am still struggling with the right hand. Not a surprise since I never learned. For some reason the Travis-style of alternating bass gives me fits to get my thumb to keep it going - it wants to just stop doing it lol. Most of my trouble with this song is just that. This actually is a good song to start learning fingerpicking technique because it is all using mostly ring finger and o nly a couple third fingers along the way.

Scott

willem

Sun Aug 07, 2011 12:36 am