Completley Absolute Beginner

tabs

Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:48 pm

hello everyone ,,

am very interested in playing guitar , ( but not the electric = ROCK ) ,

all that i know is :
1- classic guitar : contains 3 steel and 3 nylon strings ,
2- Acoustic guitar : contain 6 steel strings ..

any help on starting up will be gr8 n appreciated ,,

by the way i bought a classic guitar ,, with 3 nylon strings and 3 steel strings ,

thanx
tabs

Chasplaya

Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:31 pm

Just to clarify things for you, A classical guitar actually has 6 nylon strings the Bass strings are nylon core with metal windings, classical and flamenco guitars are similar although classical generally have a slightly wider fingerboard. Just in case you replace the Bass strings with all steel ones, that would ruin your guitar. Acoustic guitars is a generic name for non electric so you can actually get acoustic nylon or steel string guitars, then to confuse things even more you can get an Acoutic-Electric. Guitars with steel strings are constructed differently than nylon string guitars to withstand the tension steel strings places on the neck.

It is important to understand this difference as incorrect strings can ruin your investment.

To get started find a good teacher , check a few out before starting, get someone you are comfortable with, check out music stores to see who they recommend. You can learn a lot here at TG but you can't beat the face to face lesson.

tabs

Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:39 pm

thnx for the reply ,,
so as for me ,, i actually not thinking in getting a teacher coz am just lookin to learn a bit of songs to sing along ,,

so wts the best thing to start with ? for example i like Colbie Caillat songs ,
and would that be steel strings acoustic guitar ?

i wonder wts the difference between nylon and steel string ? i mean what type of song i can play n so on ?

sorry about the questions ,, but am completely new and barely understand in guitars !

thnx again

Chasplaya