What do you practice and for how long?

spags

Mon May 11, 2009 10:13 pm

Hi Guys,

I was hoping we could all share our practice routines. I’m always interested to see how other people practice and what kind of time they put in every day. I like to see what good ideas others have that I might learn from and borrow for my own routine.

When I was a kid, my dad (who is a really really good guitarist) taught me how to play. He used Mel Bay’s books. His rule was that I had to practice for an hour a day because that’s how he learned. It was torture. To me it seemed like more of a job than something fun. I was way more interested in learning to play songs I liked rather than learning from these books. I eventually stopped playing until high school because I wasn’t having any fun.

When I started playing again I concentrated on the fun aspect. What I do currently is drill for about 10 minutes a day. I then spend the rest of my time learning songs or something else that interests me. I don’t have a set amount of time that I play each day, sometimes 15 minutes, sometimes 3 hours.

The attached file is how I currently spend my 10 minutes of drill time before I start having fun with the guitar. What do you guys do?

Spags http://www.totallyguitars.com/images/fb ... arm_Up.doc

dtaylor

Tue May 12, 2009 1:10 am

You and I have a similar outlook on "practice" Spags. I've never been motivated by repetitious exercises or adhering to a set practice routine. I always want the guitar to be fun. That doesn't mean I don't "practice" in the sense of learning a song (and all that entails) or working on a challenging part of a particular piece. I figure if there are skills I need to develop they will show up in the songs I learn.