Left Hand Position

AndyT

Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:07 pm

I used to be a professional Martial Artist. As such, my hands and fingers are all mostly twisted in one direction or another and its almost physically impossible for me to get correct left hand position.

Any suggestions?

Chasplaya

Sat Jun 27, 2009 6:05 pm

AndyT wrote:
I used to be a professional Martial Artist. As such, my hands and fingers are all mostly twisted in one direction or another and its almost physically impossible for me to get correct left hand position.

Any suggestions?
Use Japanese made guitars...

Sorry couldn't resist, i have a left hand challenge my pinky was broken when I was little and it was obvioulsy never noticed by my parents (they never could understand my constant screaming!!) and as such has set slightly crooked at one joint and I can't straighten/flatten it I also have very limited strength in it making some chords nigh imposssible ie using the pinky on open G is possible but I can't make a quick transition.

haoli25

Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:22 pm

Well, GRASSHOPPER (couldn't resist), there is a
right way to do things and there is the way that
works for you.
As you have no doubt seen from many other great
guitarist, not all of them practice perfect form
and technique. I see many of them with improper
left hand position, little finger of their right
hand braced on the soundboard for fingerpicking,
etc. A lot of NEIL'S DON'TS work just fine for
them.
I think the idea is to correct the things you can,
and work around the things you can't correct. It
may come down to having perfect form and play poorly,
or having bad form and playing well.

Like the rest of us, just keep practicing.

Haoli

KennyF

Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:40 pm

AndyT wrote:
I used to be a professional Martial Artist.
A professional martial artist? Really? Do tell...

wrench

Sat Jun 27, 2009 10:21 pm

AndyT,