Video posting concern

Lavallee

Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:04 am

Hi all, I have some concerns about the video posting. I am afraid that it is turning into a competition. I know it is not the intent from anybody who is posting but I fear that many people will not post a video because :

somebody already played this song
somebody already played it and is much better than I
my playing is much better but I do not want it to look like I am bragging about it
I am a beginner and all the posted videos are more advanced than what I play.

I see many comments to the different videos like I need to practice another year, or I will post someday, I wish I could play like you, etc..

We need to emphasize that the posting is for your own purpose of learning and not to compare yourself with the others negatively. If anything looking at someone more advance should be to enquire how the person got there and findout that there is no magic but work and dedication.

Lets make sure that the postings are a discussion and not a show case where people will be afraid to participate

Marc

BigBear

Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:08 am

Marc- Excellent, thoughtful post! Karma at you buddy!! :cheer:

AcousticAl

Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:12 am

Great point Marc.

How's the vid coming Andy?

:)

heyjoe

Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:53 am

Interesting post Marc

While I completely understand your points, and agree with them to a point, I think it should also be highlighted that the video upload section was set up purely for people to record videos and to receive feedback.

From what I've seen of it, I believe that Neil and Matt set it up purely to be another area where we, as guitar players, can continue to improve, through positive and if needed constructive feedback, not only by the TG Staff, but also from the forum members.