couple of questions for those of you in the TARGET program...

mattroutley

Sun Oct 25, 2009 4:46 am

hey everyone,

I consider myself to be an intermediate guitar player and am very close to joining the TARGET program but had a couple of questions first:

I am completely self taught so i know a lot of chords and can play quite a few songs but when it comes to theory i have no idea! I am interested in learning scales and how to work out new chords and also deciding what key a song is in etc.

So for my first Question: does Neil cover guitar theory in the target program?

Second question is: I am 28 years old so a lot of the videos on here are teaching how to play songs before my generation - some of which i like but i would love to learn some more recent hits. Is this also a possibility within the target program or am i a little young for the required audience?

Thanks a lot in advance for any response,

Matt

heatndude

Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:06 am

Hello Matt, Im also younger than most of these folks. I new nothing about the guitar when I started the Target program at its start up. Now I have been practicing with a experienced band and they keep asking me to come back so It must be working. I actually enjoy a lot of tunes Neil teaches ! Did not think I would. In every lesson he goes over the theroy of the song, scale etcc.. I use this or transfer this info. to other songs I try to learn. If you follow Neil you may not like the tune but you will sure learn a bunch that will help play almost any style of music (with practice of course) I practice everyday for about 2 hours sometimes more. Most of the folks here are older but very young at heart and they have a lot of experience. The best thing is, they are all willing to help at any time. The TG live sessoins are great because you feel like you have Neil all to yourself to answer questions. I would not hesitate to join while the price is still right, you can always cancel if you dont like it ! Keep playing

Mark