How many new songs........

aitch

Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:04 pm

How many new songs do you generally keep in the "learning" category? I get so frustrated sometimes with one song that I move onto something else and I'm finding now that I have about 4-5 songs that I'm rotating between. Plus, it doesn't help that there's so much to choose from here. I'm fairly new to guitar and just wondering if I'd be better off sticking to one or two songs relatively heavily, or spreading myself a little thinner over more songs.

mmmbldo

Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:13 pm

That's a great question! And what you describe is exactly how I came to learn most of some of probably a dozen songs that I never finished. YET LOL

jayswett

Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:19 pm

I think having 3,4 or at most 5 songs that you are working on simultaneously makes sense. That's more or less what I have at the moment, with some further along than others. I am currently working on Dear Prudence, Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Landslide, kathy's song, and finally Never Going Back Again. That's my two cents.

Chasplaya

Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:26 pm

I never have too many going at once maybe 3 or 4, but that is outright learning. This doesn't stop me going off and noodling on other things but not necessarily with the intent of learning. I maybe try out some of the new songs on TG or one thats been mentioned by another member and I put it in the bank for later on. E.G. Chris mentioned Dan Fogelbergs song Longer today in the groups (think it was today anyway) Now I have had a tab for that for years and hadn't really looked at it so off I went played around with it and decided yes its gonna be on my list to really learn but its in the bank for now, its in Open G and my Resonator is always tuned to Open G so I used that, now as its set up for slide with a very high action it gives you a real good workout on the barres

suziko

Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:28 pm