Ten Years After: "I'd Love to Change the World" (a first attempt)

cosmicmechanic

Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:57 am

I haven't yet posted a video ... I gotta post something,
imperfect as it may be (I mean, really).

The tune is "I'd Love to Change the World" by the band "Ten Years After", and Neil has a lesson on it.

I started learning this piece knowing it was over my head,
so I replaced one arpeggio with a sweep of the pick
and modified the strumming to fill in empty spots
where there are only vocals on the original version.

The only "singing" I attempt is to demonstrate how challenging
it is to coordinate lyrics and playing in this song's chorus.

Just to be clear, the lyrics to the chorus are:

I'd love to change the world
But I don't know what to do
So I'll leave it up to you

Anyway, watching this video made me go back to review Neil's lesson to clean this thing up.
I'll eventually post an improved, hopefully less slack-jawed version.

I would definitely appreciate your comments, see ya

dekotaj

Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:10 am

Hey Cosmic.Happy new year.Relly enjoyed it.Great song and Great band.Alvin Lee really kicked butt at woodstock.You should really post this,its good.

Kevin.

Lavallee

Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:16 am

Beau travail Pierre, glad you decided to go ahead with a video. It is coming out nicely. I would suggest to slow down the bass line to meet the chord strumming subsequent to it to have the whole thing at the same speed and increase the overall speed gradually. Also in the singing part when you strum, you mainly give downstrokes. You should try to keep your hand moving.

Great job

Marc

Lavallee

Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:17 am

Kudos for posting, and nicely done! This looks to be a tough song, and I think you're well on your way.