How do you practice guitar?

kep67

Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:30 pm

I'd appreciate any tips / ideas for practicing.
I've been playing for a couple years. Try to play for ~1 hr per day.
I practice during lunch and then before bed. Tend to have a couple songs at a time I work on and then strum bits and pieces of other songs.
I don't have any structure or set routine. Maybe that's what I need.

I don't practice scales or do any exercises. I don't really know how I'd do those.

Once in a while I feel like I plateau and make no forward progress. At those times I find I need to find a new song with new 'techniques'. I know I'm a lot better than a couple years ago but I'm not totally satisfied with where I'm at.

I do love my guitars.

Thanks for any help

Erik :)

beaker

Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:22 pm

Kep 67
I can tell you how my practices go, maybe you will get some ideas.....
Usually I bounce around with different things, I always have a couple of new songs to work on that are in the beginning stages. I try to follow Neils advice and have something going that is beyond my comfort zone..... After a while I want a little success so I play some stuff that I am already familiar with. It is important so have some fun and not have to try so hard all the time! Sometimes I practice the major scales and pentatonic scales. If you don't know where to begin just watch the acoustic genius series. You may need to make notes, and possibly write down your own tablature diagrams to use as reference. I have also used various scale dictionaries that are available online for reference. Sometimes, I just grab a Bob Dylan songbook and strum songs with simple chords and try to find ones with changes that I like. If you find yourself in a doldrum, then use one of neil's target lessons try to find some inspiration. I hope this helps. Beaker.

BigBear

Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:31 pm

Hi Erik! Welcome to the program from Oregon! We're glad to have you with us!