Are coated strings worth the price?

BigBear

Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:27 am

I just plunked down for another set of coated strings (Elixir Nanos in this case). I've long been a fan of Cleartone and Elixir but after spending another $14 US, I got to wondering if I'm really getting 3X the wear out of them over regular phosphur bronze strings since they are 3X the price.

They seem to hold up well and not fray like earlier versions but they go dull with frequent play. Regular PB's oxidize quickly but don't seem to dull as badly.

Anyone have any strong feelings about these strings?

haoli25

Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:46 am

Good question Rick. I have been using the Elixir Nanoweb strings for a couple of months now. I must admit I am a believer now. For those of us that play a lot (2 to 3 hours a day) I think they are actually a little easier on the fingers than the old phosphur bronze strings I had used before. As for the life of the strings, I actually get pretty good mileage out of mine. I do use "The String Cleaner" with a spritz of 'Finger-Ease' everyday. Keeping the strings clean is the key to the life of any strings you use.

Bill

AndyT

Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:19 am

I really think coated strings are worth the extra money. They last longer for me and they don't go dead as quickly.

ffsooo3

Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:46 am

I had the same set of Elixir Polyweb Lights on my Ovation for 3+ years and the sound was still brilliant! Nice crisp highs and full bass. AND they never squeaked. I have since changed to a cheap low end set (don't ask me why) and from the get go they didn't sound as good as my 3 year old Elixirs! I'm waiting for the next 'super-blowout-sale' at Guitar Center to hopefully get the Elixirs a little cheaper than $15 a set.....

Lavallee

Sat Jan 09, 2010 8:42 am

I have been using them for a few months as well and I really like them. I find that they are worth the price difference (about the same cost in Canada.