Fingerpicking Question

scotta

Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:00 pm

Hey Everyone!

In the years that I've noodled around on the guitar, I've done very little fingerpicking. Since I've been at TG though I've become very interested in learning some of these great fingerpicking tunes. I've seen threads recently regarding nail care and have noticed Neil's nails on the videos, which brings me to my question.

What if you have short nails? I believe I could grow mine out but can't due to my job. I work in a hospital and am in daily hands-on contact with sick people. My hospital has a policy against long nails for people in contact with patients for a number of reasons, the biggest being for sanitary purposes.

Ok, that being said, my choices seem to be playing with fingertips or using finger picks. Fingertips seem to give a somewhat muted, low volume sound instead of the ringing sound of nails or picks, but I believe I've heard Neil discourage use of finger picks.

I'm ready to start working on these songs but would like any suggestions on which way to go here, or if there's something out there that I'm missing.

Thanks,
Scott

dennisg

Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:01 pm

Scott,

Are you allowed to wear gloves at work?

BigBear

Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:29 pm

Scott- many of us can't use natural nails. I mangled my middle finger in a farming accident and can't grow a nail. Other people don't grow thick enough or hard enough nails to hold up long term.

You correctly indentified your two choices; finger picks or using the pads on the end of your fingers. I use both and both seem to work okay. I wish I could get the crisp sound that Neil gets from his nails because it sounds really natural. But I can't.

I use ProPik metal fingerpicks because I can bend them to fit snuggly. They're excellent picks but they are almost too bright.