Easiest Guitars to Play

tobman

Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:52 am

I am a beginner guitarist and want to buy a new guitar for simple stuff (campfire songs, some easy blues, mostly flatpicking with some fingerstyle). Based on the reading I've done, a great choice is a Taylor. I've been thinking of a DN3, their least expensive solid body dreadnaught.

Do any of you think there is a difference in the ease of play between the different guitar types, like a dreadnaught vs a grand concert?

dennisg

Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:15 am

There can be significant differences between manufacturers, considering that they all have their own unique neck shapes, but within a single manufacturer, I think the differences will be tiny. A dreadnought and a GC have slightly different neck lengths, which means the length of the strings is going to be slightly different, resulting in a small difference in how they feel. I can't vouch for other manufacturers, but I know Taylor puts light-gauge strings on its GC and mediums on the dread. Right there is a difference in how the two guitars will feel. In general, light-gauge strings are easier for a beginner to finger than are mediums.

You didn't ask about the differences in sound that the two body sizes produce. The GC is the smallest standard-size guitar Taylor makes, while the dread is one of the largest. One of the greatest factors in the overall sound of an acoustic guitar is the size of the body cavity. A dread will be much louder than a GC. That may or may not be important to you, depending on where and with whom you intend to play. I think a GC is great for home use or when plugged in to an amp. If your plan is to play with other people, where your guitar will be fighting to be heard alongside theirs, I'd go for a bigger body than a GC -- unless your GC will be plugged in. Another consideration is your size as a person. A dread is a big guitar, and it's typically more comfortable for larger people to play.