Repaired Guitar

smips65

Tue May 04, 2010 7:49 pm

Just wanted to share with all of you.

There's been some discord in my life recently, so instead of getting angry and getting all hung up on things I can't control, decided to finish a project I've been working on for about 6 months.

A very broken guitar.

2 cracks in the neck
loose fretboard
loose saddle
really bad bridge
really bad tuners

and the results....

well I'm pleased.

All in all, only $150.00 bucks invested in this baby. The joy and satisfaction in a job well done......priceless

Forgive the horrid chicken-pecking playing on display here. This was much more about breathing new life into a very crippled, and wounded instrument.

[video][/video]

Music Junkie

Tue May 04, 2010 7:58 pm

smips:

Looked good from what I could see. Sounded fine too. What make and model is it, and did you do the repairs at home yourself?

I have been doing a lot of research about building guitars, and am currently on a waiting list for a couple of workshops here in southern CA. I have a some pretty good wood working tools here at home that I do most of my home remodels and various projects with. Been looking at heater/benders, and finding varying info on them. At any rate, I admire the fact that you took that on. Not only did you fix it, but you how it was done, and you get the satisfaction that goes along with it.

Cheers!

Jason

haoli25

Tue May 04, 2010 8:02 pm

Great job, but we need details! :) What was the most difficult of the repairs? Did you replace the neck or repair the cracks?

Music Junkie

Tue May 04, 2010 8:06 pm

haoli25 wrote:
Great job, but we need details! :) What was the most difficult of the repairs? Did you replace the neck or repair the cracks?
Good questions! Would like to know the answer to those as well... B)

smips65

Tue May 04, 2010 8:30 pm

haoli25 wrote:

I'm sorry, I should have been more forthcoming with those details.