Buying A "New To Me" Guitar In The Next Few Days, Feedback Please

buzz_187

Sun May 09, 2010 5:15 pm

Hey guys!! So, i've been bitten by the guitar bug and i'm starting my collection after receiving my very first one on Christmas this past year. The one i have is a Spencer SO-SG500 and is perfectly fine and playable for a beginner but, when i walk up the street to my father's house and play his Washburn, i play sooooo much better, and its just more fun, when i play better! ;) So i'm buying another, and want some help since im relatively new to everything guitar! I guess, i could tell ya a couple of things that i like about my dad's Washburn:

first and foremost, is the thing that seemingly lets me play better, and that is the width of the neck. It feels wider than my Spencer, and therefore, i can hit notes/chords cleaner. The spencer has alot less space between strings and is actually pretty difficult for me play, but i guess practicing on my Spencer is EXACTLY what makes the Washburn easy to play?!?!? Wow, just had a revelation as im typing this, lol, but anyways.... Does any of this make sense?? and is there a standard width to guitar necks?

Secondly is the sound..... sooooo much cleaner and louder imo! Now, louder is not neccessarily better in my opinion, but i dont have to strike the strings as hard, and that IS a plus since i bang em pretty damn hard on the Spencer. And when i focus on how hard i gotta pluck to get the sound, my mind wanders from the task at hand.

Third: The price....my dad has told me that he gave around $250 for his at the gibson store at opryland here in Nashville, so im guessing that is the normal price for that model, which i dont know what model it is. My wife has put me on a $200 cap so thats what i got to work. So...hopefully i can get some good feedback/direction here on brands and models for the buck! Any info is greatly appreciated, thanks so much in advance!!!

-Brad

johnrfeeney

Sun May 09, 2010 5:41 pm