accoustic vs electric

bon712

Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:46 pm

I just started trying to learn the accoustic. I love the sound and have wanted to learn for years. I have no prior experience. I have been trying to learn night moves by bob seger. My fingers can't seem to cooperate at all.. Even for the simple G chord.. the f seems like something 10 times worse. My friend suggested maybe trying an electric guitar because they are easier to learn on. I am open to this suggestion. However I do not want to spend money on an electric only to find out I have the same issues. The fingers hurt. I can't seem to hold the strings down hard enought and my fingers are on the shorter side. Sometimes I notice with my ring finger I am hitting the 5th string. Somebody else told me to play til the bleed.. Any thoughts or suggestions? I'm not ready to give up but it shouldn't be this hard??? Thanks!

tovo

Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:00 pm

Hi,

There are a heap of members with years more experience than me, but I'll offer some thoughts on your question. It's really pretty simple. What you are experiencing is what EVERY guitarist experiences. Chords take time to learn, your fingers hurt. Keep your practice sessions relatively short, i.e. play maybe 15-20 minutes, then take a break. regular practice is better than 1 long session that takes your fingers ages to recover from. Keep practicing chords. Finger the chord, strum, pick out the individual notes to ensure they are all ringing clearly, strum again. Then practice transition from 1 chord to another. Back and forward, time after time. Keep this up for a few weeks and you will notice significant improvement. This motivates you. You will find with more practice your fingers can handle more and more practice.

electric versus acoustic isn't relevant right now in my opinion. Sure electric is easier to fret but you said you enjoy the sound of an acoustic so there's your answer.

Don't get discouraged. One step at a time.

Cheers.

haoli25