String Replacement- Acoustic Electric

juanlla

Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:28 pm

How do you know when is time to replace the strings ?

I owe a Mitchell Acoustic electric with steel strings, and been playing it almost daily for about 9 months.
Sorry to ask this but im rather new in this and would like to know how often or what other indicator should I pay attention to know is I need to replace strings.

Thanks
Juan

dennisg

Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:13 pm

Juan,

A few things will determine how often you need to change strings: 1) How much you play every day; 2) Whether or not your strings are coated or uncoated; and 3) How clean your hands are when you play.

I play about an hour every day, with coated strings, and I wash my hands before each session. With all that, I can tell my strings are starting to go dead after about 45 to 60 days.

If you use uncoated strings, I'd change them about every 2 weeks, depending on how much you play.

Coated strings (for example, Elixir Nanowebs) will last much longer than uncoated strings. And strings used by a guitarist with clean hands will last much longer.

But I don't care if your strings are solid gold and you have the hygiene habits of Howard Hughes, after 9 months your strings are way beyond dead. Put new ones on and your guitar will sound brand new.

juanlla

Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:04 pm

Dennis,
thanks for this as I said before I started playing for less than a year and this is new for me.
I think that based on your comments, my strings as way beyond that point. I've been playing them for about an hour on a daily basis for 9 months. I`ll replace them tomorrow.

I got Elixir 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings. (light .012 -.053) I think they are coated.
Do you know them ? do you like them ? which ones would you recommend ?

thanks

AcousticAl

Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:29 pm

Crap I've got to change my strings!!

sbutler

Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:36 pm