Did They Know Theory: Robert Johnson, Eric Clapton, Don Felder etc etc and Tom Petty

Chasplaya

Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:23 pm

A question to ponder... Did many of our acclaimed music heroes understand, know or even apply music theory ? Or did they stumble across a good sound by accident or experiment. A recent query about The Eagles and Tequila Sunrise raised this question with me, they have that small change up to 16th notes in the intro with the hammer on and then in the last verse they use chords from another key. Was this by accident or did they know what they were doing?

I often wonder about many of these musicians who were self taught to begin with and learned from listening to vinyl records, Don Felder and Eric Clapton to name a couple of notables. Did Robert Johnson know theory and apply it?

From time to time one of these acclaimed musicians (not just those mentioned) have done something different or unusual and over time it becomes 'accepted theory'. It must be ok these guys did it!

So what do you guys think? Do we really need theory? Is it all about a pleasing sound irrespective of musical correctness?

Did they know, understand and apply theory? Or was it sometimes just trial and error and good luck?

willem

Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:51 pm

DO WE NEED THEORY..??

I think we need it,,but what we do with it, we want to cover songs and i start 7 years ago to try this,, i need a song book(written out) and play and understand the melody helps me a lot,,the same with acompaniment and i have to find the frets and notes,,knowing this by theory i find them easer/quicker..i respect them much who do this by ear,,

ps knowing what is 4/4 or 3/4 or 12/8 or 6/8 ,, maybe we don't need so much,,maybe i wish i could without it..

wrench

Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:24 pm