Please answer my question

neuz

Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:04 pm

Hello there. First of all, thanks for tanking your time to read this. N
Now my question: How used to playing guitar do you have to be to start playing the electric guitar. I'm fairly new with the guitar so far, only played the acoustic one yet. May people have told me that I have to get used to the acoustic one before I go for the electric. So, basically, yeah. Thank you :D

lueders

Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:30 pm

Hi, Neuz. I certainly can't speak for everyone but I believe starting on acoustic vs. starting on electric is a matter of personal preference. A heck of a lot of folks start out on acoustic. (But not all) This is primarily an acoustic based site so you are in good shape there. Also when you switch to electric you'll have your callouses built it up. (Electrics are way easier on the fingers.) Trouble with electrics is then darn amp you need to hear the thing...and when you do turn the thing on it wakes up the baby sleeping in the next room and the neighbors across the street. \

Also I think you can pretty much do about 89-99 percent of what you want to play on an acoustic. In my opinion, if it is a song that you need an electric for, well then it ain't much of a song.

Cori

Music Junkie

Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:36 pm

lueders wrote:
Hi, Neuz. I certainly can't speak for everyone but I believe starting on acoustic vs. starting on electric is a matter of personal preference. A heck of a lot of folks start out on acoustic. (But not all) This is primarily an acoustic based site so you are in good shape there. Also when you switch to electric you'll have your callouses built it up. (Electrics are way easier on the fingers.) Trouble with electrics is then darn amp you need to hear the thing...and when you do turn the thing on it wakes up the baby sleeping in the next room and the neighbors across the street. \