I need a capo, but which one?

fiddlechick

Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:08 am

Newbie here, and I need a capo. I've been borrowing one that works well, a Kyser. But when I get on ebay to look at 'em, I get overwhelmed. I could buy another Kyser of course, but what if there is something even better out there that I don't know about?
What can you tell me about capos, my new guitar friends?
peace, rachel
PS I have a little Martin parlour guitar

Music Junkie

Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:09 pm

Hi Rachel,

Personally I'd definitely go for Shubb-capos!

Of course, there are other good ones available, but mine has never let me down and is very user-friendly, so you might wanna take a look at those!

Cheers

Ness

RicksPick

Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:58 pm

Hi Rachel

I use the clamp type at home as these are quick and easy to move about the frets
But am about to buy a cheeper one for my guitar at work, one of those that is a rubber band attached to a stiff plastic barre part
Hope you understood that lol,
They all work, some are easyier than others,

RicksPick

Music Junkie

Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:03 pm

I have to agree with Vanessa. I really prefer the Shubb capos. Easy to use and adjustable for various guitars. Here is a link to their site.

http://www.shubb.com/

I have two of them along with various others that I have tried. The others are collecting a lot of dust lately..... :)

J

Chasplaya

Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:13 pm

Hi Rachel, I have both Kyser and Shubb and both are equally good. However, considered to be the Rolls Royce of Capos is the G7 brand, they are not cheap:

check em out here

http://www.g7th.com/

tovo

Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:40 pm

I'm with Chas Rachel. G7th is the stuff. I have one and it's a beautiful thing. Almost makes you want to capo everything so you can use it!

dennisg

Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:41 pm