How do you practice

kpenhorwood

Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:00 am

Okay, I am sure this has been brought up before but I didn't see it.

With that said I was wondering about a couple of things revolving around practicing....these are more of my thoughts and demons than anything else.

1. Practice time: I have been practicing usually around 1 to 3 hours a day for the last 2 months or so. I tend to feel guilty if I go a day where I don't practice and sometime I have to force myself to practice. The funny thing is once I get started I love it so much I have to force myself to stop before my fingers split and bleed. Anyone else go thru this?

2. How much of a song do you end up playing when you practice? I find myself hardly ever playing a song from beginning to end....maybe this is because I don't sing and playing a 3 or 4 verse song usually repeats itself and it gets boring to me. I usually play the first couple of verses/chorus's and then start the song over. The bad thing about this is when I do try and play especially a long song (see many Eagles songs) all the way thru I end up getting hand cramps. Not good.

3. I have practiced songs for weeks and gotten to the point where I feel like I play it really well. I then start a new song and practice it for a while and then I try and go back to play the first song and it is like I have never played it before. Anyone else experience this?

dennisg

Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:18 pm

Yeah, we've had lots of threads about practicing, but another one won't hurt. You would have gotten a lot more responses by now, but the thread somehow got locked.

1. I'm able to practice anywhere from 30 to 60 minutes per day. And by "practice," I mean play songs. Neil makes a distinction between practicing and playing. When he thinks of practicing, he's usually referring to improving new techniques, doing scales, etc. He considers diddling around with songs to be playing, not practicing.