Suppose I dug up a fruit jar...........................

AcousticAl

Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:29 am

............and I wanted a medium quality guitar.

I am looking exclusively at Gibson after what the government did to them. I am studying the J-45 for about $2400 or so. I am currently practicing on a Guild D-30 and I'm really not happy with the sound. Maybe the wrong strings or something.

Anyway, if you had around $3000 to spend on a guitar, what would you look at? I'm open to Martins and Taylors and others, but I'd like to stay with Gibson. Any suggestions?

Signed: Coussin Gonflable with great thanks to TCS for loaning me his password.

Marcia just needs to know Sam didn't write this. Nope, he did not! He is currently in the shower, thank God!

haoli25

Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:42 am

Sam's Cousin, :P , have you considered a 335? Play as many guitars as you can before you decide to plunk down that 'fruit-jar' money.

Bill

neverfoundthetime

Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:08 am

For that kind of money, if you are in the States, try all the Martins, Taylors and Gibsons and you will end up with your perfect guitar, I'm sure!

daryl

Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:35 am

A question for all you responders....

Would you consider buying a used guitar? Why or why not? Do guitars lose their value as soon as you "drive them off the lot" so to speak? Or do "higher end" guitars hold and/or increase their value? I'm not talking about a '40s Martin or anything like that. I'm wondering if one should consider buying a '90s or early 2000s guitar instead of a brand spanking new one....

AndyT

Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:01 am

Nothing wrong with used. Especially if it's in great shape and priced right.

willem

Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:05 am

daryl wrote:
A question for all you responders....