Learning tough tunes...how do you go about it??

tovo

Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:14 pm

Hi all.

As is common with my threads I will ramble on a bit here, hopefully the point of the question will emerge somewhere along the way!

I'm talking about songs that are "In the red zone". Those tough tunes with the very intimidating red numbers alongside in the list of lessons. That's where I have been spending my quiet mornings over the past several months. My reason if anyone is curious is that I find I get a lot of satisfaction from the discipline it requires. I'm certainly not dissing learning and playing easy tunes, but after a lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth, I seem to gain most satisfaction from spending a long time on something that is currently beyond my ability, and getting on top of it to a degree.

So let me go to my specific example. I've been learning "Stray Cat Strut" for at least 3 months. (Brian Setzer is playing here in Adelaide this month...I'm so there!) I have the intro, the 1st verse and the 1st lead down pretty well and can play it up to speed and with good rhythm (although self praise is no great recommendation to be sure). I spend each morning going over and over those parts, and for the most part it's all going well. I now feel ready to move on and learn more of the tune.

So my question is, from my description am I going about it the right way? Should I have spent so long on just a few parts of the tune getting them up to speed before moving on, or should I have learned the whole thing roughly and then worked to improve it all?

I know, everyone learns differently. I am however, very interested in your opinion and I'm not so much after a definitive "Yes" or "No" answer, more I thought it might make for a useful discussion.

Hope everyone is well and playing heaps.

neverfoundthetime

Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:23 pm