A few tunes well...or heaps poorly?

tovo

Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:42 pm

We all practice differently, that's something I have learned through many good discussions with players of all standards here on TG.

My method is to stubbornly play a tune pretty much exclusively until I feel I have it. If anything, my stubbornness is stronger now, and I have been working on the same couple of tunes for perhaps 3 months pretty much to the exclusion of all else.

While I do that, I worry that I am restricting myself. I worry that the other tunes I have taken the time to learn will gradually fade from my memory. I recall discussing the issue with Dennis who told me he regularly plays everything he knows (which must take a while!) so that he doesn't forget.

While I feel I could benefit from that approach and have tried to incorporate it, I worry (I worry a lot) that I risk becoming the type of player who knows bits and pieces of lots of tunes. I think there are many such players.

So I was wondering, a few tunes really well or lots of tunes just OK? It actually seems easier for professionals who have their own set list to learn and play over and over.

Then I look at Neil who plays everything so damn well and I see that it is possible...perhaps just for the extremely talented few.

Is there a question in there to be answered? Perhaps not, but I thought someone might have some thoughts on the subject.

Now back to practice....

tombo1230

Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:01 pm

Hi Tony,
I'm sure this is a problem most guitar players face. Why not take one day a week and play only songs/tunes that you aren't currently learning, songs you have learned but aren't in your practice regime at present. You will have the benefit of having a break from the routine and should manage to keep your old songs going.

Tom N.

dennisg

Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:15 pm