Newbie question

auntlynnie

Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:20 pm

Well, I'm not a newbie to TG, but I know nothing about Guitar Pro.

So what is it, and why would I want it? I'm asking this honestly.

Thanks,

Lynn

wiley

Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:58 pm

Music Junkie

Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:35 pm

I use it to tab out songs that I am trying to learn, mostly. It never really occurred to me to use it as a looper. Great idea. One nice thing about it, is that if you open one of the .gp5 or .gpx files that Neil posts, you can listen to the proper rhythm and see it written out. That can be a big help sometimes, at least for me.

Jason

familyman4

Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:46 pm

Thanks for asking the question Lynn. I've been wondering the same thing for a while too.

Wiley, when you say you can loop it, is that the tabs for the music or is it the actual video and tabs?

Wiley and Jason, thanks for your responses. If anyone else has some feedback for Lynn, I will also be looking in on the answers.

Thanks...
Bart

michelew

Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:37 am

Lynn,

GP is great for hearing what the music as written should sound like, especially for those bits that have an unusual timing. If the arrangement has multiple section, some of which repeat in a complex way, then it will also show you the order that you need to play them in. It does that by jumping you back to wherever you need to be. While playing against the original is really useful (slowed down especially), GP also helps by allowing you to just hear the track you're learning.

I don't use many of its features, but I find it useful for helping me to learn songs.

Have fun.

Shel

willem

Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:51 am

Its a tool,,a must have tool,,it reads and playback the tabs given with the lessons,,you can slow down the beats per minute and practice along(but thats all said in de other posts),,It has a very realistic sound,,,