Practice makes permanent; how do YOU practice productively?

michelew

Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:44 pm

Hi everyone!

I'm trying to change how I practice. Vanessa has been trying to help me to undo my bad habits, chief of which is to play things too fast when I'm still trying to learn and perfect them. I'm too impatient with myself and I end up just spinning my wheels.

I'm definitely trying to slow things down and work on the bits that are casuing me issues in small segments. But I do find it excruciating. I'm better at applying the approach to things that I'm just starting to learn. But... I find it hardest to practice and refine things in a slow and mindful way that I've been working on for a while. I know in my head that Ness is right (and in my heart) but my body is impatient and I'm struggling against myself. ... Actually it probably doesn't help that I've had a bucket of strong coffee. But the struggle is there even in the evening (it doesn't help that I'm tired then too).

I have quite a few things that I've practiced mistakes into; chief amongst them a jump to Bm in Diamonds and Rust. I can do it when I slow it RIGHT down, but I still revert to my thud, thud or stopping error when I play it faster. ... Who knew practicing a mistake for a year was a problem...right?!? I have to admit that I'm now just (or mostly) playing the bits I can do. ... Because they sounds good and they're fun and the other bit is just frustrating. Oooops! Bad Shel! :)

Why am I writing this thread? Why? Well I guess the most obvious reasons are:
- to say it out loud,
- to make a public contract with myself to change my bad ways,
- I guess because I suspect lots of you out there do the same thing from time to time. Misery loves company as they say. :S ;) and
- to find out how people have stopped making this mistake.

I've started breaking my 'practice' up into smaller chunks too. I do find its easier to focus in smaller segments. Ok it's not rocket science.