String squeaking

daryl

Sun May 01, 2016 4:58 pm

I am working on a "2nd guitar"part for a particular song that has a LOT of sliding double stops. The guitar part is quite involved and I have been working in sections. I finally got the 1st section in reasonable shape and thought I would record that to evaluate my progress and see what needs tweaking. I was floored when I heard the playback. :-( There was a LOT of string squeaking during the double stop slides. The squeaks happen whether I'm sliding UP the neck or DOWN the neck. And only happens on the wound strings. Does anyone have any suggestions, solutions, tips, or other words of wisdom? Thanks!

dottmcse85630

Sun May 01, 2016 7:29 pm

Hi Daryl, by faaaaaaar I am no expert but when I bought my Breedlove guitar it came with what I consider cheaper strings. I played them for a while and I did notice a lot of squeaking from the strings.
I changed the strings after 3 months and found a real WOW factor. I really like Elixir Light or Custom Light for tone and playability, just my preference. But an added benefit the squeak goes way down for me.

Dennis

wrsomers

Sun May 01, 2016 9:19 pm

Daryl,
I don't know if you're talking about acoustic or electric here. But if it's acoustic, I'm wondering if you've tried the Martin Retro strings yet. I find they don't squeak as much.

Bill

neverfoundthetime

Mon May 02, 2016 5:12 am

I would suggest the elixir lights too Daryl. I have been using them since Christmas and they squeak less, I think. I can't test it right now as my BSG is at the shop getting it set up and the action lowered, a nice free first service, so that when Ness plays it next time, it'll be easier to play :-).
I think I can guess which song so I am sooooo looking forward to it :)

daryl

Mon May 02, 2016 5:47 am

Dennis – I have used Elixirs in the past and liked them. Right now I have D’addarios on them and it’s probably time to change them.