The Best Advice I Can Give You...

dtaylor

Sun Jun 12, 2016 1:12 pm

If you had to pick just one thing you've learned on TG in terms of technique, theory, practice, or anything else to do with playing guitar, that you would pass on to a complete novice as 'the best advice I can give you', what would it be?

Just one piece of advice each, and if it's something you wish you'd been told when you started then all the better.

Mine would be keeping your right hand fingers assigned to a string each and your thumb on the bass, it makes learning new songs much easier.

fjeanmur

Sun Jun 12, 2016 1:33 pm

Hi Dean--

Interesting question. Mine would be Neils's time estimate for learning barre chords. I believe it was in the Acoustic Genius Series where he said something like "six months to a year, minimum" to really be able to play barre chords. That for me was probably the most important thing because if Neil hadn't given that realistic estimate, thirty years later I would have once again given up on guitar thinking that I just really s---ed because I couldn't play barre chords. As a kid I never learned how to play them because the other kids I was asking help from told me it was so easy, nothing to it, just put you finger down and . . . Years later I understand what was going on there.

I've learned loads of other things here, but this one was key because it got me over that hurdle. And God, Dreadlock Holiday is so much fun, Vanessa! I don't sing it, but I love playing it.

My two cents.

dtaylor

Sun Jun 12, 2016 2:02 pm

Jean, I can empathise, I remember having my heart set on playing 'Something' which is full of variations of F# one after the other and thinking to myself, 'oh well, I'll never be able to play that, it's phyiscally impossible!'.

I learned the best way to get good at something like that is to have a song you're obsessed with being able to play, that way you're doing the hard miles but enjoying it at the same time.

willem

Sun Jun 12, 2016 2:16 pm