12 String Guitar

clydeortego

Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:05 pm

If their is anyone experienced with a 12 String Guitar I could use the help.

I purchased one around a month ago and I am still getting used to it.

Help Please

Thanks

Clyde Ortego

familyman4

Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:38 pm

Hello Clyde,

Can you be more specific on what kind of help you need with the 12 string? Tuning / strumming / using a pick / etc...

Really, if you can play a 6 string, you should be good to experiment and have a blast with a 12 string :) You can use the exact same chords and notes as a 6 string.

Bart

Music Junkie

Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:42 am

Clyde:

I bought one last year, and I play it almost every day. Bart is right on with his comments. To be honest, I find it easier to play as far as a strummer. Fingerpicking is a completely different story for me on a 12-string. I am not very good at it on a 6 string, so adding 6 more is laughable for me.

What specific questions did you have?

Jason

BigBear

Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:52 am

Clyde- there are lots of 12 string guys on this site, me included. I love mine! Like Bart said what are your challenges? We're all here to help you!

Cheers! :cheer:

neverfoundthetime

Mon Jun 23, 2014 2:38 pm

I've been playing my 12 string for 25 years now (not that I am anyone's expert) and there are a few things to watch out for. You need more strength in your left hand for holding down those chords, especially barre chords which can be murderous at first! So practice those often. Open tunings are much easier on your hands so check some of those out too. I remove the octave E bass string and play with 11 strings as its so much easier to get a good bass note out that way and less pressure for your hands holding down the chords. Use light gauge strings. Play frequently but with lots of rest in between. Strumming is king on a 12, of course, picking takes more perseverance but works ok after a while. Good luck and have fun!

Chris

clydeortego

Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:27 pm