lessons on how to improvise a solo

villageac

Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:21 pm

I assume there are videos on TG that address learning how to improvise a solo - I tried searching but I don't know how to find them. I want to learn how to solo to some standard, simple (I,IV,V) rock songs - I'd like to have some hints of melody in my solo so it wasn't just a free form solo using scales from the chords.
I'm the junior member of a band - I have been playing rhythm guitar in a group of very talented, life-long musicians for the last 3 years- we play every week for 4 hours. I've been playing hard for 5 years now and have taken lessons for 3 years. I know scales - major minor, pentatonics and some modes. My group plays some standard rock songs - Into The Mystic, Wild Night, Wild Horses, The Weight are some examples. I consider them relatively simple, straightforward songs and they are deeply ingrained in my brain after hearing them for 30 years. The people I play with can all solo easily - they can put in melody lines along with more free form improvisation - and they encourage me as well as try to help me learn. I'm not progressing in the least and I'm frustrated as hell. When I attempt a solo it sounds like a scale and there is no hint of melody. I practice daily at home for hours - I can play over a 3 chord 12 bar blues backing track - and I work hard at trying to hit the 1,3, and 5 notes of the chord, and then do the same on the chord in the next measure. I can do this adequately - but it's a "free form" solo - there isn't any melody incorporated. When I try this with my band I pretty much melt down - the people I play with are very encouraging and gentle - but I seem to lose all concept of chord structure of the song (even though I've played rhythm on the songs 100s of times). So not even being able to do the basics (scalar play to each chord) I can't imagine how melodic components are inserted.
Can anyone point me to some vids on TG - or elsewhere - that might help me? TIA