MarkM Open G Noodle

Craig

Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:34 pm

You long time members might remember MarkM's Open G Noodle. Neil made a lesson on it. I believe some members made a song out of it. I seem to remember Michele and Daryl were in on it but I'm not 100% sure of that since it was 2013!... yikes! time flies!

At any rate, I started playing once a week in the garage of my friend, Joe. He's better than me, but he's patient, and we have the same musical taste so it works out great. We also enjoy a beer or two which makes it fun too! One day, I was in open G tuning and started to play MarkM's tune and Joe perked up and asked what's that? I explained where it came from and he said, "let's do something with that." So, it became a project. We worked on it, off and on, for a couple months until we came up with something that we liked. Joe had his nephew, who is a pretty good musician, add a bass line to it. His son played the "cajon". We made a little "cello" at the beginning on a keyboard and recorded it on "garage band". I'm playing the acoustic and Joe is playing electric.

Sorry there is no video, only audio.

It's an mp3 file so I don't even know if that will upload ... but I'll give it a try.

Thanks for listening.

Craig

Craig

Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:36 pm

Looks like nothing attached, I'll go to plan "B".

michelew

Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:20 pm

Craig,

This sounds like a great project. I'm really looking forward to hearing what you've come up with. Mark's beautiful piece was so full of possibilities.

One way you can get the audio up is to insert it into a really simple video in iMovie. All you need to do is:
- open an iMovie project
- select a single image (like you Joe and his son) and insert it into the video project
- then extent the time that the image is showing from the standard 4 seconds, to the entire duration of your piece of music.
- then you simply add the audio track against the image.